ECA names electrical industry ‘Power Players’ winners

no comments

Two outstanding individuals have been named as ‘Power Players’ within the electrotechnical and engineering services industry.


Policy analyst Nadia Smith of the Renewable Energy Association, and business mentor Dan Jackson were selected as winners by an independent panel of industry experts.

They were recognised at a ceremony at Aerospace, Bristol. The initiative was supported by Schneider Electric.


Outside of work, Nadia is a part of the South East London Community Energy Cooperative, which helps install solar panels on schools and community buildings and uses the funds to tackle fuel poverty. Nadia has also just returned from Ghana, where she taught students practical business skills through the ‘Dream Renewables’ programme, which she co-founded.


Nadia said: “I’m very thankful to the ECA team for their hard work in pulling this together. It’s great to have initiatives that celebrate the work of young people in the sector, not only to support their growth, but to also attract further talent into the engineering services sector.

‘So blessed’


Dan Jackson, also known to many as ‘Dans The Engineer’, impressed the judges with his sustained advocacy and support for small business owners. Having previously run an electrical business, Dan is now a business coach for tradespeople and business owners. He has also become a successful YouTuber, raising awareness of issues like mental health, fair payment, and work-life balance.


Dan said: “I feel so blessed to have won ECA Power Players 2019 amongst many amazing people who entered. It is fantastic to be recognised by the judges, who are industry leaders, for my efforts towards the electrical industry, which I am very passionate about.”

Nadia and Dan have won several prizes, including the chance to be part of a fundraising initiative with the Electrical Industries Charity, a business trip to Schneider’s facility in the French Alps, and lunch with business guru Sir John Parker.

The judging panel, led by FETA’s Russell Beattie, also included ECA’s Luke Osborne, EDA’s Anne Vessey, SELECT’s Alan Wilson and Tessa Ogle of the Electrical Industries Charity.

Other News