The search has begun for the 2021 SPARKS Learner of the Year!

With a new name and a new format, we’re excited to announce the launch of the 2021 SPARKS Learner of the Year competition.


Between January and April, Level 2 and 3 students from colleges nationwide will take part.



Two learners from each college will compete against each other to secure their place in Round Two. The competition will take place within their own college on one of the dates listed below.


Each college will enter one of the regional heats depending on their location.



The winner from each college will complete a short written test for the chance to represent their region at the final.



Out of the six regional winners, the three highest scorers will compete in the final for the chance to become the SPARKS Learner of the Year 2021.


As well as the prestige that comes from winning the competition, there are fantastic prizes up for grabs, with every competitor receiving a certificate for taking part. The prizes have been donated by well-known industry names including our sponsors Schneider Electric and WAGO.


Alex Rendall, of Bridgwater & Taunton College, won the 2020 competition. Alex, who won the competition at his third attempt after entering in the previous two years, said: “I’m over the moon, really happy. All the hard work was worth it. There are fantastic prizes on offer, it’s a great experience to meet new people and you get to work with products you might not work with on a day-to-day basis. It’s great to build your confidence, as you get the plans in the morning and have to keep calm and figure out how you’re going to do it.”


You can check out the 2020 regional test here.


If you’re a lecturer and have a Level 2 or 3 student you’d like to enter into the 2021 competition, send us your email address below and we’ll get in touch with the details!


Click here to view the competition terms and conditions.

    Want to get involved in Learner of the Year?


    Midlands Regional


    South East Regional


    South West Regional


    North West Regional


    Wales Regional


    North East Regional


    Grand Final



    Pick a Year: